Riddle me this…

February 17, 2010 at 12:00 am 10 comments

Entry filed under: Transgressions. Tags: , , .

Discussion Questions: A Tale of Two Cities Discussion Post: A Tale of Two Cities

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  February 17, 2010 at 4:28 am

    I’ve done all of those except the last one…but stealing library books was an accident! I returned them after I realized they hadn’t been checked out properly (but I read them first).

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Ah well that’s all right, then. ;) I’ve actually done the last one (although I seem to be the only one)!

      Reply
  • 3. KT  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Oh my god, I am such a page-corner-turner! It’s terrible — I do it whenever I find a good quote or a scene I want to return to. I always mean to leave a post-it instead, but they’re never nearby when I need them. This is definitely a habit I need to break, but turned corners are so much neater than a pile of post-it flags sticking out of the side, right?

    I have also read the first in the Twilight saga, but as the kids these days are saying, I did it for the lulz. Surely it doesn’t count as a transgression then? :\

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:51 am

      What transgressive behavior! I must say, turning page corners absolutely makes me cringe–I literally cannot do it. More power to you if you can, though. It must make it substantially easier to find all your favorite quotes again!

      I’m getting to the point where I think perhaps I should read the first Twilight book just to know what everyone’s talking about. The shame of having to buy it, check it out from the library, or otherwise be seen with it is really what’s stopping me at this point! :D

      Reply
  • 5. Aishwarya  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    All of these except the fifth and the last. I have also microwaved a book in an attempt to remove the smell of spilled perfume from it – I don’t know if that’s “transgressive” so much as just weird.

    Reply
    • 6. KT  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      See, now I want to know if the microwaving worked. That’s definitely a candidate for the weirdest thing ever done to a book!

      Reply
      • 7. Aishwarya  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:42 am

        It was not entirely successful, but it helped. A bit. My hands still smell faintly of jasmine every time I try reading it (I hate jasmine).

        Reply
  • 8. neuroticmom  |  February 17, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I can’t even borrow you know who’s books because I get hollered at for ruining the spine :) and I don’t do it on purpose,(and I don’t leave books open face down) but now when I find out about page corner turners!! I can’t believe it!! I am ashamed to be related :)

    Reply
  • 9. Kim  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:23 am

    I said I buy books with pretty covers and never get around to reading them…I think I still have six to eight books I bought over the summer to read. Oops.

    Reply
    • 10. Corey  |  February 18, 2010 at 7:02 am

      I definitely have this problem, too! I have so many birthday books that I need to get around to!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


