Weekly Geeks: Romancing the Tome

February 15, 2010 at 12:10 am 5 comments

In honor of Valentine’s weekend, let’s talk about romantic literature. By that, I don’t necessarily mean the modern romance genre, but books that you find particularly romantic….Do you have a favorite romantic scene in a book?

I certainly do! While I’ve read many a Nora Roberts romance in my lifetime, and have read a great deal of Philippa Gregory, Judith Merkle Riley, and other authors who tend to make romance the focus of their works, normally the “romantic” scenes in contemporary novels just make me giggle.

So while romance novels are fun sometimes, when it comes to True Romance, I always have to turn to the classics. My absolute, beyond-a-doubt, all-time favorite romantic scene comes from Wuthering Heights. Cathy’s explanation of what she feels for Heathcliff is one of the best-written romantic scenes in literature:

…[Heathcliff] shall never know how I love him; and that, not because he’s handsome, Nelly, but because he’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same, and Linton’s is as different as a moonbeam from lightning, or frost from fire….Nelly, I am Heathcliff — he’s always, always in my mind — not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself — but, as my own being.

Too bad Cathy is nutty and Heathcliff ruins the whole book by first killing a dog and then emotionally abusing the remaining characters, right?

I have a few more (when Lucie Manette testifies for Charles Darnay in the beginning of A Tale of Two Cities, when Adeline and Theodore attempt to escape the evil Marquis in The Romance of the Forest, anything involving Pip and Estella from Great Expectations ), but this is the only one that gives me chills every time I read it.

What are your favorite romantic scenes? Leave us a note in the comments!

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , , , .

Fantasy Friday: One for the Morning Glory Discussion Questions: A Tale of Two Cities

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. silverseason  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:49 am

    I also get a shudder from the Brontes. There is a scene in Jane Eyre where Jane hears Rochester calling to her, although he is many miles away and she has not seen him for months. She goes to him and finds him wounded and half blind after the fire which destroyed his home and his mad wife. Then the famous line: “Reader, I married him.”

    Reply
  • 2. Britney  |  February 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    I read a lot of fantasy, and two of my favorite romantic scenes are in fantasy stories.

    I love the part in Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith where the incredibly dense Meliara learns the identity of her mysterious pen pal.

    And the end of The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, after Harry returns from saving the day and Corlath is wearing her sash, hoping that she didn’t throw it off in rejection of Damar but that it had instead fallen off, and as he’s wearing it he hopes it will be a sign of their intention for each other. And it is.

    Reply
  • 3. DanaB  |  February 16, 2010 at 3:45 am

    Oooh, I had SO forgotten A Tale of Two Cities–must get a copy and refresh my memory soon!
    Fun post :)

    ~~
    http://mywindowswideopen.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 4. Corey  |  February 16, 2010 at 6:27 am

    It’s probably just me, but Crocodile on the Sandbank still has one of my favorite romantic scenes: not the slightly silly Amelia/Emerson thing at the end, but the part where Walter finds out about Evelyn’s “ruined character” (oh Victoriana!) and proclaims his love for her anyway.

    Also, when Anne’s husband takes her on a mystery trip upstate for her birthday in Ex Libris and it turns out he discovered an amazing antiquarian bookseller and the birthday present is that she can get everything and anything she wants there. Swoon. (Double swoon because it’s nonfiction and actually happened!)

    Reply
  • 5. gautami tripathy  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:24 am

    How did I forget this scene? One of my favourite books of all times…

    Weekly Geeks: Romancing the tome

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


