Class Participation!

October 5, 2009 at 6:20 am 10 comments

Okay, readers, it’s time for you to pitch in your two cents, if you will! What are your top five favorite books of all time? I was recently asked this question and thought I really needed 10 slots to do the list justice, so make it a top ten if you feel confined by five or for some bizarre reason want to emulate Letterman. (To which I say, at this point in his career, really?)

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , .

Fairy Tale Friday: Aka, the cop-out post Eldest: Inheritance, Book 2

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily  |  October 5, 2009 at 8:40 am

    The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
    Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Dave Eggers
    Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut
    Believing is Seeing – Mary Ann Staniszewski
    The End of Education – Neil Postman

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:04 am

      You inspired this post and I’m so glad you shared your books. Are they in any order or just all on an equal plain of affection?

      Reply
  • 3. KT  |  October 5, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Great Expectations — Charles Dickens
    Jane Eyre — Charlotte Bronte
    Sense and Sensibility — Jane Austen
    The Catcher in the Rye — J. D. Salinger
    Eat Pray Love — Elizabeth Gilbert

    That’s pretty much in order of preference, but the fifth one changes pretty often, I’d say.

    Additionally, sorry about not having a post this morning! I’ve got Wednesday and Friday covered, I promise. :\

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  October 5, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      Nice list! Out of curiosity, what are some of the alternates for the fifth one?

      And no worries about posting! This was easy to slap together when I got to work and didn’t see anything up yet. :)

      Reply
      • 5. KT  |  October 5, 2009 at 1:39 pm

        Usually the fifth one is my current favorite food book (The Fourth Star, Garlic and Sapphires, Tender at the Bone, Waiting, etc.) or something like Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Valley of the Dolls, The Edible Woman, Oryx and Crake, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, or The Oracle Glass. Really I could have filled a top ten list and more, but limited it to five just for the challenge :D

        Reply
      • 6. Corey  |  October 5, 2009 at 2:16 pm

        Yeah, I was surprised Margaret Atwood didn’t make it into the five, but I guess that’s what a ten is for!

        Reply
      • 7. KT  |  October 5, 2009 at 2:36 pm

        Actually, yeah, if we’re saying of all time, then I would have to replace Eat Pray Love with The Edible Woman.

        Reply
  • 8. Corey  |  October 5, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I guess I’ll share mine, too, and in no particular order:

    Ex Libris by Anne Fadiman
    Persuasion by Jane Austen
    The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
    Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
    Mythology by Edith Hamilton

    I cut out plays (Much Ado anyone?) and academic books and such because otherwise I would have to go for the ten!

    Reply
    • 9. KT  |  October 5, 2009 at 1:40 pm

      This is almost precisely the list I expected from you, with the exception of Ex Libris. It sounds familiar…do you have a post on it?

      Reply
      • 10. Corey  |  October 5, 2009 at 2:15 pm

        You just reminded me how much I adore the word “precisely.” Thank you!

        Oh, Ex Libris. Have you really not read this one? While the others aren’t in order, Ex Libris is my number one, alpha and omega, book to end all books, favorite book. I wrote about it here as well as mentioning it here and here, not to touch on all the squeeing about it I do in my spare time. :)

        Also, I totally agree about the fifth you mentioned above. Were I to make a ten, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell would undoubtedly be in there. Five is SO HARD! I had to nix Anne of Green Gables, for pete’s sake! Ugh!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


