Fairy Tale Friday: Aka, the cop-out post

October 2, 2009 at 12:00 am 1 comment

A friend of mine has a scholarly obsession with Little Red Riding Hood. She’s written at least two papers on the topic, one of which was a full-length thesis — judging by a few papers I’ve proofread for her, full-length is about 100 pages. I’m willing to bet that by the time she leaves graduate school, she will be a full-fledged Little Red Riding Hood expert.

I’m not an expert in any fairy tale, but I have my favorites. The Snow Queen by Hand Christian Andersen is one of them, and I’ve written a paper on the Victorian pseudo-fairy tale Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, but normally I’m a fan of the standard princess-rescue types such as Rapunzel or Sleeping Beauty.

As you can probably tell from the title of the post, this is a cop-out entry. I don’t have a fairy tale to discuss with you today, mainly because I want to discuss a fairy tale that has affected you all as readers, and I don’t know which one that would be! I know which ones I like and love to talk about, but I know nothing about your guys or your fairy tale likes.

Do I turn to turn to the ones about animals that turn into princes? The ones about children lost in the woods? The ones where the characters fulfill seemingly impossible tasks in order to gain what they want? What about the oddly religious ones, where the Virgin Mary acts as a fairy godmother?

So please, share your favorites with me! Whether you’ve written on them, love to read them, or would just love to hear about them, let me know so I can post on them in the future and get an idea of what you guys might like to hear about.

Entry filed under: Fairy Tale Friday.

The Second Book Syndrome Class Participation!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  October 2, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I was holding off in hopes our loyal throngs would post something, but since they are apparently off somewhere doing more exciting things (heh), I’ll toss in my two cents. :)

    I think I would like to hear more about Beauty and the Beast. I can’t really think of my “favorite” fairy tale, but that one deserves more background than Disney gave it.

    Another favorite of mine that I only read once and have since never been able to track down was about the origins of the opal. It was really fantastic and I wish I could remember where it came from. Perhaps you could find it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


