Transgression Time!

August 12, 2009 at 12:00 am 5 comments

(This is the first of a series of Literary Transgressions, posts in which Corey or I will either post an embarrassing literary admission of our own with some commentary, or post a transgression one of our readers has sent in. If you have a Transgression you’d like to submit, please e-mail it to literarytransgressions@gmail.com)


I love graphic novels and comic books.

Love love love. Give me a superhero, and I’m enthralled.

The sad part is, I’m not even one of those fans who has an encyclopedic knowledge of Marvel, DC and the rest. I can’t even name the rest. Probably I’ve never read a true comic book in my entire life. In fact, I know my only exposure to Marvel has been through the Iron Man movie, and my DC reading has been limited to Watchmen and V for Vendetta. The only credit I deserve is that I at least read the latter two novels before I saw the movies.

My lack of knowledge only makes this transgression more embarrassing. I can’t carry on a decent conversation with a true fan because I lack the background, and explaining my appreciation for the form to an uninitiated one sounds less like a valid argument for why graphic novels should be considered literature and more like an argument centered on the statements, “I like books with pictures” and “Superhero movies ROCK” (which, incidentally, several of them do).

Maybe my love is based solely on the artwork and who played Cyclops in the film. But I also love a good kick-ass character; though many of the heroes have existential crises from time to time, generally they have jobs and purposes and defining characteristics. In most classic comics, you can easily tell the good from the bad, the moral from the immoral–and normally you can tell who is going to win in the end.

I wish I had a firmer background in the form, as it would give me a better grip on Alan Moore’s work. It’s hard to understand the subversion behind V for Vendetta and Watchmen without already having a working knowledge of the fundamentals Moore is subverting. League of Extraordinary Gentlemen is a little bit easier for me, as he’s toying with Victorian ideals and literature rather than superheroes; however, and perhaps because of that omission, I didn’t find that work as riveting as I normally would.

I promise to have more ‘big girl books’ reviews in the future, like next week. But for now, all I’ve got for you is my admission that I’m a comic book addict — and not a very good one at that.

Entry filed under: Comic Books and Graphic Novels, Transgressions. Tags: , , , .

Censoring Children’s Books: Whom does it benefit? Reading in the Small Town America

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  August 12, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    You need to either befriend Laura or read her LJ because I think she talks about comics a lot. Also, this was a great transgression! I think a lot of my literary transgressions are additionally embarrassing because I don’t know much about them, either. Fail.

    Reply
    • 2. KT  |  August 12, 2009 at 3:06 pm

      I know, to become a real fan now would involve a LOT of serious study. Like, a PhD in superheroes. That sounds like the sort of thing that would get me a job ;)

      Glad you liked the post!

      Reply
      • 3. Corey  |  August 12, 2009 at 5:03 pm

        That could just be your out of school goal once you’re done with your thesis. You could just obsessively read comics for a whole year and see where that gets you. Become Sheldon from Big Bang!

        Reply
  • […] readers of this blog may remember that I am a graphic novel nut. It should come as no surprise that I absolutely count graphic novels as books read. No one who […]

    Reply
  • […] The Professor’s Daughter. This wonderful little book is actual a French graphic novel and, unlike my lovely co-blogger, I am actually typically pretty bad at reading graphic novels. I am so word-oriented that I too […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


