Discussion Post: E-readers galore!

February 27, 2012 at 10:41 am 11 comments

All right, cats and kittens, time for one of our patented “Chime in below!” posts. This week, share your thoughts, experiences, and opinions about your e-reader of choice to help me make the leap myself.

As you know, my co-blogger Kate received a Kindle for Christmas and discussed her initial reactions back in January. (And I hope she’ll share her updated take on the Kindle experience in the comments!) I, meanwhile, am inching ever-closer to getting one, particularly since my current job has offered to reimburse me for one if I do. So now that I’ve made the decision to get one (maybe, almost, possibly), which one should I get?

I turn to crowdsourcing to answer that question! What e-reader do you have, o Crowd? What do you like about it? What don’t you like? And what would you buy if you had to do it all over again? And does anyone have any thoughts on the Kindle Fire?

Much obliged, I’m sure.

My thoughts: I’m leaning towards a Kindle touch or Kindle keyboard since I love the idea of e-ink. I know I have problems with my eyes and screens (I had to get a separate pair of computer glasses it got so bad), so I think a tablet probably isn’t a good solution for me when it comes to e-reading.

But tablets or e-readers with screens are terribly shiny and tempting, even for this Luddite. The fact that they can do so much more than a plain e-reader is also alluring, until I think seriously about the fact that all I want to do on it is read and I probably won’t use/explore/care much about the myriad of other things it can do in the end. But. They’re so shiny.

So help a girl out and chime in with your thoughts below. I think I might just be one of the last people I know not to have some sort of e-reader and/or tablet, so please share your personal experiences with either medium!

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , , , .

A haiku review of ‘Death Comes to Pemberley’ by P.D. James The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  February 27, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Okay, having just finished another amazing book on my e-reader, here are my thoughts:

    If the book is good enough, it transcends the medium. At the end of the day, e-readers are not going to kill the book. In fact, it can even help you get more out of it, by allowing you to look up definitions, search for words, characters or images, and make connections you may not otherwise be able to make.

    There is nothing like a real book, but a Kindle can open up another world for you when it comes to difficult texts — and a cover can help immensely with the weird feeling of reading a book on a screen.

    I don’t get the point of a Kindle Fire, honestly — when I am reading, I want to read, not watch movies or listen to music or whatever the hell else it does. The e-Ink is incredible, and I never get the weird fuzzy feeling I sometimes get when reading too much on my laptop when I spend hours with my Kindle. I have heard that the Touch has some minor tweaks and glitches (and have experienced a few myself, sadly), but the keyboard seems superflous and as though it might get in the way of the experience.

    Overall, I would recommend the Touch or the basic Kindle. The Touch is about as close as you can get to reading an actual book, while the basic Kindle has a longer battery life and is probably a little easier to operate. The special offers are not as distracting as you would think, and I have taken advantage of a few of them (lots of the special offers are for Kindle books or other Amazon benefits, and they never interfere with actual reading time).

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  February 27, 2012 at 11:33 am

      Super-helpful, thank you! I didn’t know you had the Touch, but I’m really glad to have that insight. It sounds great, actually, and I just read a cnet review of it that was also very complimentary. Now I guess I just need to confirm with le boss that this sort of thing is covered! (I’m assuming that if computers are and books are, this is just the nexus of those two things and thus is also covered.)

      I am a little peeved at Amazon at the moment, though, as they’ve delayed shipping a book I ordered for over a month (with a crazy pretty cover!) and e-mailed me this morning suggesting a try ordering another version of the text–the Kindle version. Not the same. At all.

      Reply
  • 3. Eva  |  February 27, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I have the original Nook, & I *love* the e-ink. My two major issues with it, its weight & its battery life, have both been fixed in the new Nook. But I also have no interest in using an ereader for anything other than reading. If I had to get a new ereader today, I’d likely go w the new version of the Nook, just because I use the library so much for ebooks and I suspect Amazon’s going to keep alienating publishers. Nook could do library ebooks before Kindle, and if the Kindle loses that, I think the Nook will still be able to.

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  February 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad to hear e-ink is as excellent as it seems on paper (har har).

      How’s your experience with the B&N online store been? That’s the only big draw-back I’ve heard about the Nook. The new one is quite aesthetically pleasing, though, and so cute!

      Reply
      • 5. Eva  |  February 27, 2012 at 12:48 pm

        I haven’t used it that much, since I mainly use the library or public domain sites for my ebooks. But the few ones that I’ve wanted to buy I’ve been able to pull up in a search! What are people’s complaints?

        Reply
        • 6. Corey  |  February 28, 2012 at 12:10 pm

          I just heard that it isn’t as easy to use as Amazon, which may or may not be a familiarity issue.

  • 7. Britney  |  February 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    So while I like my Nook, I frequently wonder if it was a waste of money (or overpriced Sudoku device) and I’m starting to think that maybe if I get an iPhone in the next few months maybe I’ll get rid of the Nook.

    (Did I just say that out loud?)

    But the Nook is handy for reading on planes (except during take off and landing, of course!), or for reading 700+ page epic fantasy novels…I’m heading out of town this weekend and I’m definitely packing the Nook instead of a few other books.

    Reply
    • 8. Corey  |  February 28, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      “An overpriced Sudoku device”! Hee hee. I tend to doubt that an e-ink e-reader could be replaced by an iPhone, but if you’re really only playing Sudoku on it, then chucking it in favor of an iPhone does seem like a solid option!

      Reply
  • 9. Marg  |  February 27, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    I have a Sony reader and I love it. I can’t imagine changing to a tablet because I do like the e-ink screen. I also just started reading via the Kindle app on my phone which I never thought I would do!

    Reply
    • 10. Corey  |  February 28, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      Interesting! I hadn’t even been considering a Sony reader, so thanks for chiming in!

      Reply
  • 11. Mona  |  February 28, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    I have the Kindle Keyboard. I decided on the Kindle because I was more familiar with it (a relative has one). I’m also not a fan of Barnes & Noble and try to avoid it most of the time. I’ve heard rumblings that B&N may be going the way of Borders and I didn’t want to buy a Nook and then be left in limbo (not sure if that would actually happen).

    I don’t like the Kindle Touch because it has roughly the same typing style as an iPad or iPhone. I’m used to the Swype method (rather than pressing every single letter). I didn’t consider the basic Kindle because I wanted to have a way to take notes (though I don’t take that many, to be honest). The Kindle Fire seems to have a lot of extraneous features if you’re only going to use it to read (I think those other features would be a distraction).

    I’m not very familiar with the Nook so I don’t know what the major differences are between it and the Kindle. But some of my favorite features on my Kindle are the ability to highlight passages (comes in handy when adding to my quotes collection or writing reviews), the e-ink screen (very easy on the eyes), ability to get free samples of books to decide whether I want to purchase them, and its relatively long battery life. The biggest downside is probably its affiliation to Amazon, which – understatement of the year – is not such a favorite in the book world. I admit, I have purchased and will continue to purchase ebooks on Amazon, but I try to counteract by also reading library ebooks and public domain works, and buying my physical books from indie stores. In fact, I’ve read more free books than books purchased from Amazon. But I would do research to fit your needs. E.g. If you use Netgalley, I would check as to whether they accept Kindles (last I heard, it was only Nooks?).

    Good luck! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

